From now on, MIR cardholders will finally be able to connect them to Apple Pay. So far, the option is available in eight banks: Sberbank, VTB, Rosselkhozbank, Rosbank, Pochta Bank, Otkritie, Tinkoff, and one unknown bank.

Illustration: Svetlana Chuvileva / Media

These banks serve over 80% of issued Mir cards. Sberbank alone takes 50%.

The Russian payment system Mir was launched in 2014 and did not support contactless payment systems. Mir Pay was launched in 2018, but it only runs on Android.

Write A Comment