Google has begun rolling out the Google Photos (Google Photos) update announced in May at the Google I / O conference.
We are talking about the password protected Locked Folders. At first, the feature will only be available on Pixel smartphones. However, Google plans to launch it on more Android devices within a year.
Pixel owners get the new feature as a server-side update, which means you can’t manually activate it, just wait until it appears. After activation, a notification “Configure a closed folder” from the Google Photos application appears on the device, by clicking on which you can familiarize yourself with the possibilities:
- Hide photos from gallery, search and from applications with access to photos on the device.
- Open in the same way as the device is unlocked (fingerprint, PIN, and so on).
- Content is not backed up and cannot be shared.
Also, screenshots cannot be taken from materials from this folder. The only thing you can do with the Locked Folder content is move it to an unprotected space or delete it permanently.