Google will soon stop providing free unlimited storage for “high quality” photos on Google Photos.
However, Google has already begun to simplify the process of adapting to new conditions for users – a tool for managing memory was previously presented, which, in theory, will allow for a long time not to pay for exceeding the free limit.
Now the new feature has started rolling out to users – earlier than expected. You can find it by clicking on your profile picture in the app and opening Account Vault.
Basically, it’s a way to automatically filter uploaded content and select photos and videos that you might not want to save. These can be blurry photos, unnecessary screenshots, long videos that take up more space than you think.
Google announced back in November 2020 that from June 1, 2021, new photos and videos will begin to be taken into account when uploaded to the Google account storage – 15 GB will be provided for free, and for a larger volume you will have to pay extra by purchasing a Google One subscription.